|Object Title|| |
|Catalog Number|| |
This Minneapolis & St. Louis railroad depot was located on the south end of Winfield, Iowa. By 1929, self-propelled gas-electric motor car (doodlebug) passenger trains ran once each way each day. This replaced the conventional steam-powered passenger trains that once went through town. In 1943, trains handling both freight and passenger cars replaced the gas/electric passenger trains. The Minneapolis & St. Louis depot was razed in 1965. Content can be used with the following standards: 4th grade SS 4.25 Technological Changes in a lesson on the construction and impact of railroads in Iowa. For any use other than instructional resources, please check with the organization that owns this item regarding copyright restrictions.
|Iowa History Eras|
Object is related to the following library resources, which can be found by searching the catalog number in the advanced search section: Catalog #: 2018.045.040 Biographical Review of Henry County, Iowa 2018.045.056- Study of Iowa Population as Related to Industrial Conditions 2018.045.097 State Railroad Control: With a History of its Development in Iowa 2018.045.132- Iowa Railroads: The Essays of Frank P. Donovan Jr. 2018.045.133- Iowa?s Railroads: An Album 2018.045.158- The History of Henry County 2018.045.175- Steel Trails of the Hawkeyeland: Iowa?s Railroad Experience 2018.045.176- The Hook and Eye: A History of the Iowa Central Railway 2018.045.194- Development of the Railroad in Iowa
Other photos of Winfield's depots and trains that were not clear enough to use in the database are included in the accession photo folder. The Minneapolis and St. Louis Railway was active for 90 years from 1870-1960. The major routes went through Peoria, IL, into eastern South Dakota, north-central Iowa and south-central Minnesota. In 1960, the railway was bought by Chicago and North Western Railway.